Author Topic: First time poster, just discovered MMM, not sure how to reach lofty goals  (Read 9899 times)

i_have_so_much_to_learn

• Stubble
  • started a chatroom: https://discord.gg/agSSAhXzYD
Hi there!

I just discovered the MMM community because of a friend at work, and I'm really excited to participate in the forum! I'm a bit nervous about sharing these details, since I'm generally a very quiet and private person. I changed a few small details, and rounded the numbers, to protect my identity. I have an embarrassment around talking about my financial status, mostly because I don't want my family to know.

Me:
I'm 29 years old, and I work and live in San Francisco bay area. I live with my gf and 2 dogs. We split costs - (the gf and i, not the animals!) I basically have no hobbies and work all the time, though I'm trying to change this. We live only 25 miles from our offices, but have to commute about 2 hours each way because of traffic. Moving closer will increase our rent significantly. (See numbers below). We plan to be engaged soon.

Background:
Immigrant secular family, moved to the US from lithuania when I was younger with my grandparents and parents. We grew up quite poor due to various bouts of unemployment, sickness, unexpected bills. Father died from a quick and unexpected illness when I was in high school. Mother is basically revenue neutral and unemployed. Grandmother is very sick, and has been for a long time. Grandpa is gone. Siblings are in a lot of debt. (I paint a grim picture, but... everyone who is still around is positive, happy, and supportive! We all speak regularly.)

I graduated in with over $150,000 in student loan debt, ranging from 3% to 12%, and a savings of $1,500. I chose a career in tech, even though I graduated with a useless degree in history from a good uni in NYC. I worked full time in college (40 hours a week) in science labs and as a TA, which is how I paid the other 50k of my tuition over 4 years.