Author Topic: FIRE outlook validation - we're close I think?  (Read 1586 times)

Porkins

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
  • No, I'm alright...
FIRE outlook validation - we're close I think?
« on: January 13, 2021, 11:52:46 AM »
edit: clarified child schooling; added account annual contributions

Hello everyone! I discovered the FIRE communities about four years ago and have been lurking MMM for those four years making financial adjustments along the way. This community has been incredible and invaluable and I wish, wish, wish I'd stumbled across it or paid any real mind to finances earlier. Now it’s time for a FIRE reality check. How far away are we?

I’m in IT and she’s in Medicine. We have continued earning potential, but I’ve been looking for an out for years. She may or may not want to continue in a post-COVID hospital world.

I’ve been tracking every single dollar earned and spent since 2016 using YNAB (old, retired desktop install version) and have identified a crap-ton of fat to trim. We’ve cut back little-by-little over the past few years though we’re admittedly still very much spendypants and facepunchworthy particularly with Food and Travel. I can give a detailed breakdown of monthly expenses if it’ll help, but for brevity we’re looking at a FatFIRE spend of about $100,000 per year. I’m actually calculating somewhat less, but rounding up for ease of math and buffering.

45yo/44yo spouse, MFJ
1 child (14yo) who is High Functioning Autistic
MCOL city in SE USA

Household Income (Gross)
•   Him: $140,000
•   Her: $200,000

Investments
AA: 72% stocks / 22% bonds / 6% cash
•   Roth IRAs: $314,000 ($12,000 annual contributions via backdoor)
•   401k/403b: $1,468,000 ($39,000+company match $29,000= $68,000 annual contributions)
•   Taxable: $267,000 ($117,000 in contributions annually at present)
•   Cash: $100,000

Other Holdings
•   529: $78,000 ($4,000 annual contributions)
•   HSA: $55,000  ($7,100 annual contributions)