Author Topic: FIRE away!  (Read 3082 times)

Eventuality

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
FIRE away!
« on: May 20, 2018, 07:50:00 PM »
I'm new to the world of Mustaches as of a few weeks ago and am intrigued by the idea of FIRE. Please help me figure out how to start growing my mustache!

I'm an RN employed full time, 28 y/o, reside in a LCOL area. My long-term SO is also employed full time in IT and we split expenses 50/50 but otherwise do not combine finances at all. No kids but we are thinking about trying in the next few years. During FIRE, I would probably still work around 1 shift per week just to keep my skills up to date. I'm good with managing basic budgets but I know ZILCH about investing. How do I make my money work for me?

Salary - ~ $53,000 pretax (paid hourly so paychecks vary slightly) - salary will likely increase to $60,000 within 5 years. This is more than I've ever made so I feel like I'm rolling in dough even without being a spendthrift!

Average monthly gross:
$4417

Average monthly deductions:
Tax - social security - $269.30
Tax - state - $170.45
Tax - medicare - $62.99
Tax - federal - $473.40
Group legal plan - $16.51
Vision insurance - $6.80
Dental - $7.38
Health insurance - $115.38
Disability insurance - 50% - $9.69
Life insurance 1x salary - $3.25
Roth 403b contribution (set at 10% of paycheck) - $447.39 (Employer matches $ for $ up to 3% so I'm technically contributing 13%)

Net Income:
$2834.42 from job
$400 from SO in monthly rent

Total net income:
$3234.42

Monthly expenses:
$710 - mortgage
$50 - home owners insurance
$225 - property taxes
$50 - house maintenance, gardening, etc
$55 - water/electric/sewer
$21 - heat
$7.50 - trash
$175 - groceries
$30 - Internet
$5 - Netflix
$40 - cell phone (I have an extra line on my mom's plan)
$45 - car insurance
$50 - car maintenance (average over the course of the year)
$75 - gas
$50 - medical expenses (average prescriptions and doctor's visits due to a chronic health condition)
$50 - massage