Author Topic: Cut Lifestyle Creep  (Read 6322 times)

mcraw25

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Cut Lifestyle Creep
« on: June 30, 2019, 12:50:24 PM »
Topic Title: Reader Case Study - What to Cut?

My job satisfaction has fallen off a cliff over the past few months. It pays but is very stressful and more and more i dread going to my office. I am applying for other jobs, but most require accepting a substantial pay cut. I would like to hit $2MM to feel FI. Getting there asap is the goal.  Generally I spend every penny in my base pay, but save most of my RSUs and contribute to 401K about 5% of take home pay. I came across this forum and did a budget for this month of actual expenses. It was eye opening how undisciplined Ive become. I consider my self a saver and frugal.  Putting numbers to paper I realized I have a lot of wasted expense. If I take a lower paying job, I have to get back on track with my budget to hit my FIRE goals.  MMM folks seem to be rock stars at this. Im a bit new to this cult. Help me out.  What would you cut back if you were in my shoes? Hit me, I have my big boy pants on. 

Life Situation:

Married. I am 37, wife is 34. 3 very young kids.  I am employed at a mega corp, wife is a stay at home mom. 

Gross Salary/Wages:

~100K annual base pay + ~70K RSU company stock (currently, very subject to market changes)

Rental Income, Actual Expenses, and Depreciation:

Own 2 paid off investment homes. Rent payments gross are $1,500 and $1,200.  Should mention these are in different states and I pay a property management company.  Not a perfect setup, I am considering selling 1 to pay off primary residence.

Taxes: Federal, state/local, and FICA. 

I believe its ~28%Fed and ~5% state.

Current monthly expenses: Meat of my question.

Overall I took in about $8K and spent just about every penny (excluding 401K contribution of 5%) 

Giving (10% of base)

Charity/Church $650.
Kids School Donations $150

Housing (31% of base)