Author Topic: Case study: Where can we improve?  (Read 3649 times)

thenewguy

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Case study: Where can we improve?
« on: November 20, 2017, 03:22:55 PM »
My case might be a bit more complicated than some, due to my income varying month to month. But here it goes:

Life Situation:
I'm an IT contractor (34) working from home in Central Texas; my wife stays home with the kids. Married filing jointly. 3 kids -  5yo in kindergarten and 2yo twins.

Gross Wages:
Varies between ~$3500/mo and $11,000/mo. 2016's AGI totalled $104,400; This year on track to be ~$80,000. Expecting next year to pick back up to closer to 2016.

Taxes (2016 numbers):
$5600 federal
$6500 social security
$1500 medicare
$0 state (Texas :-) )

Current Monthly Expenses:
Charitable giving   10% of monthly post-tax... ends up between $350 and $900
Mortgage Escrow   $479
Mortgage P+I   $834
Dental Insurance   $83
Internet, Streaming services   $59
Water/Sewer   $88
Power   $171
Life+Disability Insurance   $205
Medishare   $226
Cell Phone   $45
Gym   $30
Gas   $100
Allowance   $100
Clothes   $100
Groceries   $675
Restaurant   $100 (works out to a sit-down restaurant maybe once per month, and fast food 1-2x per month)
Misc   $100
Total   ~$3,750-$4,300

Current Yearly expenses:
Amazon Prime   $107
Umbrella Insurance   $265
Vehicle Registrations   $205
Vehicle Inspections   $27
Auto Insurance   $746
Motorcycle Ins   $92
Sam's Membership   $45
Medical/dental costs   $2600 (est. based on previous years)
Total   ~$4,100

Assets:
House   $195,000
Savings accts   ~$26,000   Adding to this basically at the rate of [month's income]-[month's expenses], which varies from one month to the next. Last year we added about $22,000 (and then put a chunk of that towards down payment on our current house), but has been negative a couple months this year.
Taxable investments   ~$7900   Currently about 40% bonds and 60% mutual funds. Not currently adding to this.