Author Topic: Wanting a Change  (Read 9618 times)

Mr. Freedom

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Wanting a Change
« on: June 20, 2018, 05:32:31 AM »
I guess I’m generally looking for some input or guidance on things to consider on my situation that may be I’m missing or haven’t thought of. 

I apologize, I think my topic might be more appropriate for the Ask a Mustachian section.  My focus is probably more on job change-related matters as opposed to questions about financial management in multiple areas.

Like some other people on here, I really hate my job.  I’ve been married for over 15 years and have two school-aged kids.  I’ve been working at a large healthcare organization for over 10 years.  I went into the field to do direct patient care and found that the only way to get more money was to go into management. I stumbled upon that reality when I asked for a raise several years ago after a program they had me create really took off.  They presented me with a manager’s position that still had clinical responsibilities and having had a very young family at the time and a mortgage, I went with it. 

About 4 years ago I was promoted into a director’s role which happened unexpectedly in the wake of some disruptive events with staffing.  The pay increase that went along with the promotion was substantially more money than I ever expected to earn in this field, but the role is not anything that I ever wanted to do at all.  It really was a major crisis for me at the time.  I did not see an alternative for a different career at the time and I wanted to maintain an income and health insurance for my family without interruption, so again I went with it.