Author Topic: Case Study – Risk business and move to LCOL area and/or Househack? Both or neith  (Read 2902 times)

SingleMomOnFire

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Life Situation: 44F, Head of Household, 7 year old daughter, live in HCOL area – Bay Area. Single mom. Dad is local, helpful but daughter is much closer to me and I have her 80% time and all nights. Never married. I am a business owner.

Gross Salary/Wages: It’s my company, so I am taking a 75k salary and another $50k in self employed income for 2017 (net 25k self employed income). Next year will likely be the 75k plus up to 108k in profit and my business partner believes we can grow at 10% per year or more. (Gross receipt around $520k and expenses at $420k)

Individual amounts of each Pre-tax deductions: Simple IRA contribution this year of $12,500. If I’m not making too much money I will contribute to an IRA or Roth in addition and next year I plan to go back to an HSA healthcare plan to be able to make a full family contribution for 2018, although I periodically do have some chunky health costs due to chronic illness.

Rental Income, Actual Expenses, and Depreciation: Business expenses are high due to payroll and paying off a note but we still expect profits to grow over time.

Adjusted Gross Income: Might be as high as $82,000 this year, may be higher in coming years.

Taxes: Last year AGI was $103k, total federal was $33k and total state was 4k. Self employment tax do take a bite. But last year was all sole prop. This year will be mostly S-corp.

Current expenses:
Category   Average   Annual
Rent    1,650     19,800
Groceries/Office Supp    749     8,990
Childcare    854     7,527
Health Insurance & Med/Dental    566     6,789
Household    473     5,628
Vacation & Airfare    555     6,665
Vet/Pet Care    337     4,092
Dining Out/Meals & Ent    220     2,635
Disability Insurance    208     2,500
Car Insurance    164     1,966
Self Care    152     1,826
Life Insurance    106     740
PG&E    89     1,071