Author Topic: Case Study - new to FIRE/MMM. Lots of student debt, but feeling excited  (Read 4674 times)

DanTheYogi

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
EDIT:  I did not know my 401k contributions when I first made this post.  They have now been edited into the post.

DanTheYogi Case Study

Life Situation: Hi everyone!  I am brand new to MMM and FIRE.  I have a lot of student debt, and little savings, but truth be told I am feeling excited about my future.  I know it won't be easy, but to me that is part of the fun of it (the challenge).  I am single, male, 24.  I live in the Dallas, TX area (though this will change relatively soon - I will detail on this later).  As with most people my age, I have made a lot of mistakes.  While I have always been debt averse (I have never owned a credit card, for example), for some reason I did not apply that same line of thinking to taking on student debt when I was in college, and I currently have about $100k in student loans.  I have a good degree, but I do not like the field I am in.  Just to give you an idea, if I could right now, I would trade my degree to be debt free without a second thought.  Alas, no reason to ponder past mistakes!  Let's move on.

I have crunched my income/expenses in the past, but up to this date I still do not even have a budget.  I just got finished crunching some basic numbers to provide for this post (and to give myself a needed reality check).

Gross Salary/Wages: $66,000/year

Individual amounts of each Pre-tax deductions 401k, HSA, FSA, IRA, insurance:  401k is the only one I have.  I do not know exactly how much I am contributing, but I know that it is maxed to what my employer will match.  EDIT:  I just checked.  I contribute $257.05 per month.

Other Ordinary Income: none

Qualified Dividends & Long Term Capital Gains: N/A

Rental Income, Actual Expenses, and Depreciation: N/A

Adjusted Gross Income: Not sure what exactly this would come out to minus the 401k.