Author Topic: Case Study: Large Debt, Large Family, and not too proud to ask for help  (Read 5694 times)

DJV007

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Life Situation: Married jointly - I’m 31, my wife is 29 and we have three kids (8,4,1.  I’m a teacher and she is going back to be college to be a Dental Hygenist.   She is also a permanent resident who applied for citizenship.  We live in Texas (no income tax, but wicked high Property Tax).

Gross Salary/Wages:  $4800
Individual amounts of each Pre-tax deductions:
HSA: $283
Health, Vision, Dental Insurance: $370.  Children are on CHIP
Teacher Retirement and Retirement HealthCare: $401
Qualified Dividends & Long Term Capital Gains:Dividends $60 in Roth IRA
Also from October 2017 to May 2018, I’ll be receiving an inheritance in monthly payments of $1000 a month

Adjusted Gross Income:$3740
Taxes: Federal, state/local, and FICA. 0.  Typically I receive a refund of about $3000 a year
Medicare: $82

Current expenses:
Mortgage: $648 (was 30 year FHA for 3.625% and 3.5% down taken out in May 2014)
Home Insurance: $130
Property Tax: $360
Electricity: $150 (It typically only gets that high in the Summer.  Normally it’s about $80).
Water & Trash: $90
Two Cell Services (includes unlimited international calls for spouse): $55
Groceries: $570 (includes household items)
House Repairs: $30
Gas and Repairs: $250
Car Insurance ($44)
Medical OTC: $40
YMCA Membership: $35
Clothes: $45
Netflix and Amazon Prime: $15
Entertainment:$60

Total: $2500

Expected ER expenses:I do get a pension at 80% of my salary when I turn 59 ½ or I can take early retirement at 51 and 65% and receive5% more each year.  With rate of inflation, I guessimate my ending salary to be anywhere between $75000-90,000.  I do not receive SS.

Assets:
Dodge Journey:  $12,000
Kids 529. - $500
Vanguard Roth IRA: $6000
I Bonds - $300
Savings Account - $3600
HSA: $2600

Liabilities:
Car: $288 (2014 Dodge Journey purchased in May 2017 for 36 month loan at 2.2%)