Author Topic: Case Study - How Can I FIRE in Thailand?  (Read 4055 times)

ThaiSmile

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Case Study - How Can I FIRE in Thailand?
« on: April 16, 2018, 02:22:42 AM »
Greetings and many thanks for taking a look at my scenario. Investing super novice here. 4 months ago the Mr. Money Mustache site opened my eyes to the possibility of FIRE and I have been reading boards, blogs and sites to understand the basics. Until I ran my numbers through FIRECALC, I just assumed it was work until mandatory retirement. It has been a major haul to get myself in order to the point I could present this humble request for the MMM experts to take a look at my scenario. It’s as thorough as I could be, so apologies if too much or too little detail.

Background: US citizen currently working in Thailand. In Asia 28 years. Prior have worked in Philippines, Vietnam, Singapore and Japan. Married to Japanese national (not a citizen or Green Card holder) who is a full-time housewife. No kids.
Tax Filing Status: Married Filing Jointly.
Tax Rate: 25% US Federal for US tax exposure // 0% State as I am not a resident
Debt: None.
US Retirement: Will not be eligible for US Social Security or Medicare.
Housing and Core Costs: Rent = USD 2000/month. Utils/Cable/Internet/Mobile = USD 500/month. This could be reduced, but our apartment is in the center of Bangkok, so no need for car and can use public transport. Our apartment provides all maintenance, so no cost for furniture, major appliances, aircon maintenance, etc. We plan to be renters for life.