Author Topic: Case Study: Family of 4, low income, low expenses  (Read 10045 times)

TheInsuranceMan

• Bristles
Case Study: Family of 4, low income, low expenses
« on: February 28, 2017, 02:24:18 PM »
Hey everyone.  I'm going to do a quick run down here of where we were at year end, and how our budget looks.  Poke holes, help optomize, give thoughts, ideas, what-have-you.

Me, 29, Wife, 28 - Oldest daughter turns 3 in May, littlest turns 1 in May.  Oh, and we have a dog...
I'm an insurance agent, wife is a PTA
2016 tax return...
AGI: $67,774
Taxable income: $38,974
We got $2,052 back in fed taxes, 339 in state.

Gross Estimated Monthly Income (after taxes, benefits, HSA, and retirement contributions)
Me: $2,200 (this is the number I used last year, should probably be closer to $2,400 a month now, but I'm leaving it as my first paycheck had my year end bonus in it, so I don't know what it's going to end up with monthly, to be honest).
DW: $2,000
I make about an extra 4-6k a year helping a farmer in the spring and fall
DW has a state pension, I use a 401k (10% of my income, employer contributes 3% max)

Bills
Mortage: $309.35 - PITI total
HELOC: $150.00
Car payment: $271.62
Daycare: $900.00
Student Loan: $189.62
Electricity: $200 - estimated
City (heat, water, trash) - $250 (usually around $150, using a higher amount as we are in winter now, so our LP usage is quite high)
Cell phone: $155 - we are in a very rural area, we've found one carrier that actually can get me service in town
Hospital: $100 - paying off the baby...interest free
Car Insurance - $89.83
Life Insurance - $83 (whole life - I know, you all hate it)
Daughter things... - $50.00
Groceries: $300 - includes formula for the baby, even though that is quickly winding down
Fuel - $200
Dog - $50
Entertainment - $100.00
Auto transfer to savings - $100
Auto transfer to kids CD's - $25 each, $50 total (both sets of grand parents have 529s open for them that they contribute to)
Total: 3553.42

Income: $4200