Author Topic: Case Study: Can I be debt-free by 30?  (Read 6417 times)

for-profit noodle

• Stubble
    • Journal: Starting My Frugal FIRE
Case Study: Can I be debt-free by 30?
« on: August 23, 2017, 10:56:12 AM »
My apologies in advance for any errors I made. I'm very new to personal finance and trying my best. Gathering all of this information was pretty overwhelming, and I'm still missing things. Math is not my forte. I appreciate any assistance/gentle face-punching you can give me.

Life Situation: 27yo, single, no dependents, Chicago IL

Gross Salary: 40,000/yr (hourly, so paychecks fluctuate)

Pre-Tax Deductions:
- 403b: 4%
- Health Insurance: Approx. $134 a month

Other Ordinary Income: I average $100 a month from babysitting. Unfortunately that income is hard to predict.

Qualified Dividends & Long Term Capital Gains: N/A
Rental Income, Actual Expenses, and Depreciation: N/A

Taxes: These vary, because I’m hourly, but here’s an example from one paycheck:
-   FITW: $140.73
-   IL: $52.89
-   MED: $22.71
-   SS: $97.11

Adjusted Gross Income: Approx. $2,400 a month (I think??)
this is coming mainly from looking at Mint over the past few months

Current Monthly Expenses (TOTAL: $2,361)
- Rent: $1,000
- Utilities: $174 (Gas, Electric, Internet. Everything is as basic as possible but it's an old, inefficient building)
- Public Transportation Pass: $100 (I have a bike, and I’m trying to use it more often, but I’m very afraid of riding in heavy traffic. I have a near-panic attack each time)
- Renter’s Insurance: $12
- Life Insurance: $60
- Spotify: $11
- Groceries: $200
- Entertainment/Misc: $200 (I have steadily decreased this amount over the last 6 months, tracking trends via Mint)
- Current Credit Card Payment: $200
- Student Loans: $354 (paying $10 more than required on one of these)
- Phone: $50 (my portion of a family plan)

Assets:
Savings Account 1 (Ally): $361.72
Savings Account 2 (US Bank): $1,820.06
403b: $3,355.61