Author Topic: Bay Area family new to FIRE. Punchisize my face! How can we save more?  (Read 9098 times)

Stamag

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
I thought I was living a very frugal lifestyle by doing things like taking the train to work or not having a gym membership.  When actually adding up our expenses though I was blown away by how much we spend.  There are some pretty obvious areas that we are going to work on but I would love this forum’s insight on where we should focus our efforts.
Thank you so so much for any advice you can give, I am a FIRE noob and I bow to the expertise that I have seen in this forum. 

Married, one child, single income.  Age 32.  Live in the a suburb of Oakland, CA in the Bay Area.  2018 Finances below.
($) amounts are dollars per month.  (%) is percent of After Tax income.

Gross Salary/Wages:  $12,250/month ($147,000/year)
Pre-tax deductions:
401k - $550 - 5.8%
Health/Dental/Vision Insurance - $440 – 4.6%
AGI: $11,260/month
Taxes:  $2,525/month – (Yearly – $30,300 - $16,000 Federal, 4,300 State, 10,000 Social Security and Medicare)
After-tax income: $9,725/month - 100%
Take home monthly income: $8735

Monthly Spending: $8000
Mortgage + Escrow: $2400/month + $200/month extra principal - 27.4%
Principal: $871 ($671 + $200)
Interest: $1,152
Escrow(Property Tax and Home Insurance): $576
Vacation: $678 – 7.1% - A couple trips to Colorado and 1 week long trip to Northern CA
Groceries: $981 – 10.1% - Used Amazon Fresh for a few months during a hectic period
Amazon: $573 – 6.1% - Mostly household and baby items
Contractors: $555 – 5.8% - New wall heater, hot water heater, sand and repaint bathroom
Restaurants: $412 – 4.3% - Mostly getting lunch takeout
Donations: $361 – 3.8%
Cars: $337 – 3.5% – Two cars, no payments.  Drive to train station then commute by train.
   $171 – 52% – Gas
   $101 – 31% – Insurance
   $25 – 8%– Registration
   $34 – 10% – Rental Cars on Vacation
Clothes: $182 – 1.9%