Author Topic: RRSP's and mortgages  (Read 2831 times)

frugalcanuck

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
RRSP's and mortgages
« on: September 10, 2017, 10:55:12 AM »
I'm still kind of new to this idea if FIRE, but I have been frugal since I was a little boy.  I started making decent money just over a year ago and my net worth graph can attest to that.  I am thinking of buying a rental house that is a bit bigger than the one I own so If we decide to have another baby we can move into the one with an extra bedroom and washroom and rent out my current house.  The money that I have saved this year is just siting in cash at the moment because I am hesitant at putting it in my RRSPs.  If I have a plan of buying another house in one to three years, what should I be doing with my cash in the mean time so I pay less taxes?

This would be my second house so I would not qualify for the first time home buyers plan even though I did not use it on my first house.  Are there any other tricks or "loopholes" to get my money out of RRSP's to pay for a house?

kayvent

• Pencil Stache
Re: RRSP's and mortgages
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2017, 11:34:41 AM »
The rules for a TFSA may be more appealing. You can deposit money into it, put it in a relatively safe vehicle (CDs, actual bonds, bond indexes), and any money you withdraw from it can be put back in the subsequent tax years.

If I have a plan of buying another house in one to three years, what should I be doing with my cash in the mean time so I pay less taxes?