Author Topic: Investing for OAP recipient  (Read 2235 times)

saltytheseadog

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Investing for OAP recipient
« on: January 24, 2018, 11:08:31 PM »
Hello, I'm about to become an pensioner. I have a small rainy day fund I have been investing in GICs  for quite a few years now. I would like to find an investment that would provide a monthly allowance and protect the rainy day fund. It would also have to be tax free as any increase in taxable income will be cancelled out by a reduction in my  GIS . Is this possible? I know zilch about investing but everything about frugal living.

RichMoose

• Pencil Stache
  • RiskManagement
    • The Rich Moose | A Better Canadian Finance Blog
Re: Investing for OAP recipient
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2018, 09:37:49 AM »
Hello, I'm about to become an pensioner. I have a small rainy day fund I have been investing in GICs  for quite a few years now. I would like to find an investment that would provide a monthly allowance and protect the rainy day fund. It would also have to be tax free as any increase in taxable income will be cancelled out by a reduction in my  GIS . Is this possible? I know zilch about investing but everything about frugal living.
You could invest in a series T mutual fund, but their expense fees are generally quite high.

Can you put that money in a TFSA? If so, you can invest in anything and any income generated and withdrawn from the account is not reportable for taxes so no impact on GIS or other benefits.

saltytheseadog

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2018, 11:37:01 PM »
Thanks Mr. Moose
That's good advice. With the annual contribution limit it would take awhile to load the TFSA but worth it in the end

RichMoose

• Pencil Stache
  • RiskManagement
    • The Rich Moose | A Better Canadian Finance Blog
« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2018, 07:15:30 AM »
Thanks Mr. Moose
That's good advice. With the annual contribution limit it would take awhile to load the TFSA but worth it in the end