Author Topic: How to explain being a contractor to another contractor  (Read 3201 times)

ElleFiji

• Magnum Stache
How to explain being a contractor to another contractor
« on: March 19, 2018, 08:44:44 AM »
Hey!

I work in healthcare, and I'm an independent contractor, and so is a colleague (most of them are). She was talking about getting a tax refund, and I asked her about how that works, if she pays in installments etc... and she said no. Then I asked if she is incorporated. She said no. I asked if she pays CPP. She said no. I asked if her family or an accountant handle all her accounting... she said no, but she's 100% sure she's doing everything right.

2017 was her second year in practice, so if she really hasn't been paying taxes or CPP, she could still recover.

Before I bring this up with her again, can anyone come up with any possible situations where she isn't fucking herself over? How can CRA be issuing a refund if she isn't paying anything?

plainjane

• Handlebar Stache
Re: How to explain being a contractor to another contractor
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2018, 09:01:18 AM »
Could she be getting a GST refund or something from the province as a low income person? Or is she just expecting a refund, and hasn't done any paperwork yet?

ElleFiji

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2018, 09:13:18 AM »
Could she be getting a GST refund or something from the province as a low income person? Or is she just expecting a refund, and hasn't done any paperwork yet?
That's absolutely possible - she's around my income level with high SL debt. And I still enjoy my HST cheques.

Or possibly since 2016 was her first year in practice she worked elsewhere as an employee and payed taxes/got a refund and this year will be a cruel awakening?

okits

• CMTO 2023 Attendees
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2018, 01:43:03 PM »