Author Topic: Which year did you graduate in and how much debt did you end up with, if any?  (Read 30541 times)

legacyoneup

• Stubble
looking to review trends in student debt over time.

DebtDerp

• Stubble
2011: upwards of $115k.

I was naive, I was foolish, I had no concept of the hole I was digging for myself when I took out that first loan in 2007. The good news? I found NMHD and MMM last year and now my debt is down to about $85k. I'm slowly climbing out of that hole :)

imustachemystash

• Bristles
2005.  $30,000 which includes a master's degree.  Paid off!

Cecil

• Bristles
2006: None.

Between academic and athletic scholarships, a summer job, and the generosity of my parents, I graduated without any debt.

Baylor3217

• Bristles
Dang. I'm old, single and debt free.

$33,000

frugaldrummer

• Pencil Stache
Undergrad - 1977 - no debt (I worked as a waitress, attended a public university and received Social Security survivor benefits from the death of my father)

Graduate school - 1981 - $2,000 debt (I worked for a year in between as a lab tech, was paid as a teaching assistant during grad school, took out just the one loan for $2,000.)

Med School - 1985 - $20,000 debt (I worked for one summer between first and second year.Received some grant money - maybe the equivalent of the Pell grant? - and had one small scholarship for a few hundred dollars. Again,attended a public university. Ate a lot of beans and rice).

Even at the time, it was a very small amount of debt for a medical student - I knew colleagues who owed $100k - $150k. 

I was fortunate in that the University of California was inexpensive and high quality; I worked where possible; I was experienced at stretching a dollar (beans and rice, sewed my own clothes etc); and received the social security money and grants. I only lived at home for my first year of college, but could have saved even more if I had not moved out.

Freckles

• Magnum Stache
1995- BA Had about $22,000