Author Topic: Which Makes More Sense?  (Read 2479 times)

nexus

• Pencil Stache
Which Makes More Sense?
« on: February 22, 2017, 03:00:25 PM »
I recently switched jobs and have a 401k valued around $5k with Fidelity through my old employer.

My question is, should I roll over my old 401k to my new employer's program or should I just transfer my old 401k to Vanguard and just let it be? Any advantages/disadvantages?

Things to consider
- I plan on staying with the current job until I hit FI/RE (basically just went from temp/contractor to permanent in the same company)
- I've never done this before so I'm not sure how it works. If I transfer to Vanguard, will the old 401k shares just be left in tact and continue to gradually grow over time?
- If I transfer to my current employer's 401k (which doesn't offer the same investment options), my old holdings will just stay there and keep being reinvested, right? Could I sell them and buy whatever my new 401k offers?
     -> If my portfolio automatically rebalances, will it sell my old 401k holdings and realign the portfolio with whatever allocations I've selected?

Can I do either of these transfers/rollovers with just a phone call?

Many thanks, very fun to be learning new things.

neo von retorch

• Magnum Stache
    • Fi@retorch - personal finance tracking
Re: Which Makes More Sense?
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2017, 03:10:49 PM »
The only reason to rollover a 401(k) to a new employer's program is a) they have great fund options with low expenses AND b) you perhaps plan on making withdraws directly from the 401(k) when you hit 55. Since you're 26... I'm suspecting this is not relevant to you.