Author Topic: Where would you put washing machine and sink?  (Read 1859 times)

mozar

• Magnum Stache
Where would you put washing machine and sink?
« on: July 25, 2019, 04:46:54 PM »
Hello,
I want to put a half bath in my laundry room. I'm going to get a stack able washer and dryer (27"by27"). I'm flexible on sink size. Where would you want to put a washer/dryer and sink if you were designing it? Any opinions? I attached the blueprint. Let me know if it's hard to read. This is my first time using Autocad.

Papa bear

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Where would you put washing machine and sink?
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2019, 07:58:41 PM »
Is that a hot water tank next to the toilet?  Does your entry into the room have to be on that side? 

If it stays as is, you don’t really have enough room.  You’ve got 49” wide and probably 30” deep for the washer dryer.  Remember, you have to get your vent and plumbing behind the unit as well.  That leaves you with 19” for your “hallway” to get to the back.  That doesn’t work.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

mozar

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2019, 10:15:29 PM »
That is a hot water tank. I guess the water tank could be moved, but wouldn't that be very expensive? I do have an empty closet on the other side of the house that I could put the water heater in.

The toilet is not existing. I put it there in the drawing because I thought it would be better than on the perpendicular so there is enough clearance in front of it. On the perpendicular wall the toilet would have exactly 21" which could possibly be approved for a permit.

The entry could be moved. The wall that has a picture of the water heater and toilet against it is the outside wall, and... well I think I will attach another drawing. I'm open to anything. I'm also planning on renovating the kitchen and walls can be moved over there too.

My goal here is to make the house comfortable for three to four adults. There are currently two adults now.