Author Topic: Where to stash our travel fund?  (Read 2241 times)

Annie101

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Where to stash our travel fund?
« on: November 05, 2018, 02:40:40 PM »
Hi,

I recently found this site after reading YMOYL, so I have not been thinking about early retirement for long.  My big money goal has been to save for a one year trip around the world with my family.
 My husband and I have been saving for the past four years.  We plan to leave in 3-1/2 years, so it is approaching.  We have our savings in Fidelity 4-in-1, which I am starting to worry is too aggressive (since it has started going down).  What should we do with our cash?  Are we being to aggressive?  How do we switch to another fund?  Just move it all at once?  Move it gradually?  Leave what we have where it is, but start putting our new contributions in something less risky so that we gradually have a nice mix.

Thanks!

leavesofgrass

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Where to stash our travel fund?
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2018, 05:42:49 PM »
This money should be in a high yield savings or a money market account. Maybe a CD if you feel OK about locking in interest rates.

Keeping this money in the stock market when you need it within a few years is incredibly risky, unless you are fine with possibly pushing back your travel plans by (many) years. It looks like the 4 in 1 is about 85% equities. What if the market crashes?

Also, not sure how much money you're talking about or what your income is, but there are a lot of factors to consider when contemplating changing your asset allocation. If this money is in a taxable account, you'll need to consider your capital gains/losses.

Annie101

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: November 05, 2018, 06:28:01 PM »
It's about $66k right now.  It is in a taxable account.  Our joint income is somewhere between $150-200k.  I guess I just pull it out and pay the capital gains?  Maybe half this year and half next year?

Radagast

• Magnum Stache