Author Topic: Where should I invest the funds inside my IRA?  (Read 1634 times)

archistache

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Where should I invest the funds inside my IRA?
« on: January 11, 2019, 02:14:38 PM »
I'm brand new to the FIRE movement and MMM, and am wondering how best to invest the money that's within my IRA. Can I direct it towards index funds?

Boofinator

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Where should I invest the funds inside my IRA?
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2019, 02:49:21 PM »
Yes, and you probably should. A couple questions:

Who is the IRA custodian? (e.g. Vanguard? Fidelity?)

What does your investment horizon look like? Are you a long, long ways from retirement? (This will determine the best asset allocation for those funds.)

archistache

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2019, 03:01:17 PM »
Yes, and you probably should. A couple questions:

Who is the IRA custodian? (e.g. Vanguard? Fidelity?)

What does your investment horizon look like? Are you a long, long ways from retirement? (This will determine the best asset allocation for those funds.)
It's with Wells Fargo. But I'm open to switching to something like Vanguard or Fidelity if that's considered an advantage. I'm a long, long way from retirement. Have no significant savings or investments. Paying off my credit card debt (~$5,000) and building up an emergency cash reserve before I start any significant investing. But I would like to do a little investing now, mostly to get myself in the mindset of investing and learn quickly.

Boofinator

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2019, 03:15:58 PM »
I'm a Vanguard fan, and highly recommend their services. One of the great things about the company (in my opinion) is that it is client-owned (that is, it is owned by the investors), and of course their really low fees. https://investor.vanguard.com/what-we-offer/why-vanguard