Author Topic: What would a true mustachian do?  (Read 3826 times)

Diamondpick

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
  • Life. There are no second acts.
What would a true mustachian do?
« on: September 30, 2013, 08:22:10 PM »
Do I have enough in assets to FIRE?
Debt:
House 1: 900k. Could sell for 1.6-1.8
House 2: 400k. Could sell for 840ish. Rented and produces 15k/y above expenses if rented
House 3: 400k.  Could sell for 780ish. Rented and produces 15/y above expenses if rented

Looking at buying another house for 350k and rent it long term and gain 6k/y above expenses.

Assets:
Condo: 320k (bought as investment toward kids college in 10 years)
401k: 125k in Roth although I have been contributing for 22 years doesn't seem to grow much.
Bank account: 300k.

I would like to keep my house however can sell all, some or none and continue to pay down as quick as possible from highest to lowest rate. What's is the best route to spend more time with my kids, bike and wife? I can't tell you I will quit working, but I like the option to FIRE.

Thank you

Diamondpick

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
  • Life. There are no second acts.
Re: What would a true mustachian do?
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2013, 08:39:47 PM »
4000/mo family living. Could use more but trying to live far below means.
Only other outside that is the 9k house mortgage and heating bills in winter total 6k that I draw from my s corp.

dragoncar

• Walrus Stache
  • Registered member
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2013, 08:53:07 PM »
If you can live within your means, you can retire.

Your RE exposure is way too high for my taste, and doesn't seem to be producing a good return, but that's just me.

desk_jockey

• CM*MW 2023 Attendees
  • Bristles
« Reply #3 on: September 30, 2013, 09:08:12 PM »
There is no true Scotsman. 

I, however, would probably sell house #1 and use the proceeds to pay off most of the other debt, ridiculously low interest rates not withstanding.

Dicey

• Senior Mustachian