Author Topic: What should I do with my 401k in my FIRE model?  (Read 5414 times)

little_owl

• Stubble
What should I do with my 401k in my FIRE model?
« on: July 02, 2014, 03:12:19 AM »
Hi Mustachians!

I have a little quandry with my FIRE model that I would love your advice on.

Today, I am modeling our FIRE date based solely on our "regular" investment holdings, and "ignoring" the 401k balances for H and myself by putting them in a separate tab.

I am doing thiis because I am a conservative modeler by nature (always want to "beat" the model versus underperform against it), and frankly because I am not 100 percent sure what we plan to do with our 401k balances.

Today, we are 120 months away from FIRE based on our non-tax advantaged investments (a Vanguard account outside of our 401ks.)

My current hypothesis is that one of us might take advantage of SEPP to access some 401k funds, while the other 401k just continues to grow as a cushion against some future unexpected issues, like a big change in our currently great health.

My guess is I will get facepunches for being too conservative, but please bring me advice along with punches!

deragun

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: What should I do with my 401k in my FIRE model?
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2014, 10:02:11 AM »
To me it seems like you largely answered your own question.  Depends on the size of the 401ks, but in my view completely excluding both from your overall view is a bit too conservative (but right now the largest chunk of my future FIRE money is in my 401k, so I may be a bit biased).

Plan at least the one via SEPP as you mention and hopefully you'll see that 120 months go down as you should reach FIRE sooner factoring in the additional money.  Don't forget SS serves as another safety net (at possibly reduced amount from what current levels are depending on how it's stabilized long term, but it won't be nothing).

shuffler

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2014, 10:03:56 AM »