Author Topic: What's the risk in asking for reduced responsibility at work?  (Read 3134 times)

StreetCat

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
What's the risk in asking for reduced responsibility at work?
« on: November 25, 2017, 01:04:52 PM »
I work as a team lead (software development) in megacorp, and get paid reasonably well and the management has so far been happy with me.

However, the team is 12+ in size and most of it is junior developers with 1 mid-level and 1 other senior developer; this and other issues mean a lot of work all the time and it is worsening some of my pre-existing health conditions.  I'm thinking that I may not be best suited for this role and I may be better off just being a senior developer without having the burden of answering for someone else's performance.

I'm thinking of asking for reduced responsibilities along those lines (which will definitely reduce the pay - and I'm ok with that).

Question: Is there any risk in doing this?  Should I line up another job before I ask them, just in case things get ugly and if I'm forced to leave?

wordnerd

• Handlebar Stache
Re: What's the risk in asking for reduced responsibility at work?
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2017, 01:54:30 PM »
It really depends on your workplace culture. In my workplace, it would be OK, and I wouldn't worry about having another job lined up. It may be different where you are. Have others successfully downshifted? I would think if you have been a good performer it shouldn't be an issue, but not knowing your workplace, I can't say for certain.

All that said, I might go into the conversation to discuss how to make your team more manageable. Based on everything I've ever heard 12 is way too big for one team with one team lead (I think the ideal team size is in the 4-7 range). Could you "deputize" the senior developer to help with management with responsibilities. Can they split it into two teams?