Author Topic: Upgrading my Macbook Air mid-2013  (Read 1694 times)

jeromedawg

• Walrus Stache
Upgrading my Macbook Air mid-2013
« on: April 10, 2019, 02:27:03 PM »
Hey all you techies out there.

I have an MBA Mid-2013 (1.3ghz w/ 4gb ram) that I'm considering doing some upgrades to since it's a bit of a hog these days and battery life hasn't been so great. I was looking for general advice and also recommendations on the best and lowest cost places to source some or all of the parts...

This is a list of what I'm wanting to do:
1) Replace battery (not sure what brands and or price points to look for here - I just want to go with whatever aftermarket brand is going to be reliable and not explode on me lol)
2) Upgrade to an m2 NVME 500gb~ or 1tb~ SSD (anywhere from $80-130 for a decent ADATA SSD) using an adapter ($18~)
3) Swap out logic board to 1.7ghz + 8gb ram **probably not necessary more of a nice-to-have** (not sure where to source this outside of ebay... and prices seems to start at over $150-160 there)

I technically got this for "free" or no more than a couple hundred bucks after getting a free MBA 11" through a training course I took that was reimbursed by my old employer - I sold the 11" and bought the 13" on sale so the price differential was pretty minimal. Taking that into consideration, I think there's more room to warrant doing these upgrades versus going out and buying a new laptop.

ApacheStache

• Stubble
Re: Upgrading my Macbook Air mid-2013
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2019, 08:23:59 PM »
I wish I could be optimistic here, but upgrading an older Mac can be difficult, expensive and honestly is usually not worth the time, money and effort once your Mac reaches a certain age — not to mention laptops, macs especially, generally offer limited upgradability.