Author Topic: UK Mustachian life basics?  (Read 50138 times)

Kwill

• Handlebar Stache
Re: UK Mustachian life basics?
« Reply #50 on: March 06, 2016, 03:09:18 PM »

Thanks, Dreams & Discoveries. I had to look up cattery just now. I'm learning so many words and concepts: clotted cream, cattery, crumhorn, pritt stick, pigeonhole, plimsolls, and many others. Also the fact that pants and trousers are not synonyms in this country (fortunately I heard this early on as a cautionary tale from another American).

Have to admit I've no idea what a crumhorn is either.....

These are Americans explaining it, but I heard the word first in someone's reminiscences of her Oxford "crumsoc" days. Sounded like they had fun. The instrument itself does not sound quite as appealing to me personally, but I'm not a musician. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a1VQQiGXbsw

Kwill

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #51 on: March 06, 2016, 03:27:42 PM »
We don't have thrift shops in the UK, but if you type "charity shop Cambridge" into google maps you'll have loads.

Thrift shops are the same as charity shops. But maybe the word makes a difference. Today I went along Burleigh Street by the Grafton shopping centre, and I stopped into many of the charity shops there. I've never seen so many in one place. I wonder if maybe people feel better about themselves for shopping in a "charity" shop that supports the Red Cross than they would about shopping in a "thrift" shop that supports the Red Cross. The big ones in the US are run by the Salvation Army and Goodwill, but lots of little towns have thrift shops to support the local hospital or a homeless mission or whatever the cause is.

Consignment stores tend to be a little more upscale and run for profit rather than to support a charitable cause. I had one I liked back in the States that was always having sales and also had a nice selection of good quality clothing.

. . .