Author Topic: Transition to contract work- what do I need to prepare?  (Read 1358 times)

Shrinkydink8

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Transition to contract work- what do I need to prepare?
« on: September 17, 2018, 12:43:48 PM »
Hi everyone-

Well, what I dreaded finally happened.  My grant-funded position at a university ended, and I'm now looking at taking contract work for the short-term, possibly long-term.  I will definitely do this in the immediate term as I need income flow right now.

I'm a therapist, so contract work typically entails keeping a % of my own billings, with another % going to the practice owner.  No paid time off, benefits, holidays, etc.

I know I'll need to save money for taxes later, and will need to pay for my own liability insurance.  I'm maintaining half-time status at the university, which thankfully qualifies me to continue benefits.

I've never worked like this, always had a steady paycheck, so what I need to do to prepare?  I'm not quite sure yet the how much I'll make per hour, so I'll have to wait and see how much I get reimbursed, then figure out how many hours I need to schedule.

Anything else I should anticipate?  This transition has me very nervous.  I haven't stopped looking for full-time positions, and will likely continue to do so unless the contract thing proves promising.

OtherJen

• Walrus Stache
Re: Transition to contract work- what do I need to prepare?
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2018, 01:32:35 PM »
I'm assuming that you're in the USA because of the comment about benefits. That's awesome that you can keep those!