Author Topic: Taxes? Exemption Questions  (Read 4095 times)

Feege

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Taxes? Exemption Questions
« on: September 12, 2014, 10:16:05 AM »
Hello!

I was just reviewing my pay stub for this pay period at school (I'm a music teacher) and noticed that, out of the $2,900 base, I receive only $1,800.  A large portion of it was taken out for FIT, SIT and TRS (Teacher's Retirement Services).  I am wondering if I need to review my W-2 and make sure that my exemptions are correct.

I am single, in graduate school (part time), a homeowner (with a mortgage) and work another part time job at a bakery during the summer and on the odd weekends.  How many exemptions should I be claiming?

Joel

• Pencil Stache
Re: Taxes? Exemption Questions
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2014, 10:22:50 AM »
Has your situation changed significantly from last year? Did you get a large refund last year?

Feege

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2014, 10:36:50 AM »
I was bumped from .6 FTE to .9 FTE which resulted in a $10,000/year base raise.  I don't remember my return being significant last year, but I don't think I had to pay in.

Joel

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2014, 11:30:54 AM »
What are you claiming? It's probably safe if you have just one job and claim single 1 exemption. Since you are not familiar with calculating what you should be withholding, I would be conservative.

Seņora Savings

• Stubble
« Reply #4 on: September 12, 2014, 11:58:14 AM »
I second being conservative if you're not going to look up exact numbers for your deductions.

Your numbers don't seem odd to me.  TRS can be huge, you're basically buying an annuity.

MDM

• Senior Mustachian
« Reply #5 on: September 12, 2014, 01:47:45 PM »
I am wondering if I need to review my W-2 and make sure that my exemptions are correct.
How many exemptions should I be claiming?
I don't remember my return being significant last year, but I don't think I had to pay in.
Feege, welcome to the forums.