Author Topic: Tax Question  (Read 3561 times)

treehugger

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Tax Question
« on: February 23, 2014, 09:23:44 PM »
Let's just go with the assumption that I am a tax novice or idiot. In the last two years I started doing consulting work. In 2013 I earned more than I thought I would. I've been working on my taxes and I think I could be doing a better job. I'm used to just entering our w-2 and other deductions and calling it a day. Last year I didn't earn that much consulting so it didn't have that much of an impact.

I'm married, have two kids, my husband is a school teacher with a pension and no 401k. I also teach as an adjunct at a local university. I have the max contribution to my IRA for 2013. I'm wondering what other deductions I'm missing or how I can do better on my taxes next year. Our Adjusted Gross Income is $69,000.

I've never been good with taxes but think I might need to start paying quarterly taxes for 2014 if things continue on the path they are with the consulting work. I will be earning less teaching though in 2014 as obamacare will limit the number of courses I can teach and I have not lined up any courses at other universities, if this matters at all.

RhythmKats

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Tax Question
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2014, 10:00:28 PM »
If your consulting work is a self employment situation, you could look into setting up a solo 401(k) or a SEP IRA, I believe. That would probably help you you shelter some of that income. There are others on these forums that will certainly know more about this than me, but I don't think either are terribly difficult to get started.

Gin1984

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2014, 07:00:14 AM »
Has your husband maxed out his 401k?
How old are your kids?
Are they in daycare or afterschool care or summer care?  If so, does your husband have access to a daycare FSA?  Are you getting the daycare tax credit?