Author Topic: Superannuation Australia  (Read 8329 times)

EliseHearts

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
    • My Journal: Fire in 10 Years
Superannuation Australia
« on: January 31, 2015, 08:12:43 PM »
Hello everyone!
Apologies if this has been covered in another post, but I couldn't find it.

Can someone please explain to me how superannuation works? Or know a good resource that explains it?
I pretty much understand 401k but that's not very useful to an Australian student. Are they similar?

I've recently joined the mustachian bandwagon and even though I'm only a uni student, I feel that understanding how super works will be really important when I join the workforce.

Thanks for your help!
Regards,
Elise

marty998

• Walrus Stache
Re: Superannuation Australia
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2015, 08:30:59 PM »
Hi Elise, welcome to the forum.

Super is a lot less complicated than it's made out to be.

Do you have a part time job? If you do, you probably have 9.5% on top of your wages paid into a superannuation fund. The fund then invests your money into a variety of different assets such as shares, bonds, property and infrastructure.

Superannuation investments are subject to whats known as the "Sole Purpose Test" - that is, the money must be invested solely to provide for retirement benefits - you can't access it for personal use until you meet a condition of release such as turning 55, and/or retiring.

As a trade off for not being able to access this money for a very long time, the 9.5% contributions made and the earnings within the fund are taxed at a concessional rate of 15%, instead of your marginal tax rate.

THis is of no use if your marginal rate is zero (if you earn less than $18,200), but is one of the best deals out there if your rate is 49%.

Tell us about your fund (if you have one/know the details) and we can have a look at whether it is best for you.

** sorry will edit this post - you did imply that you're not currently working (slap me for not reading properly).