Author Topic: Starting investing  (Read 3163 times)

LGabrielle

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Starting investing
« on: September 17, 2013, 09:24:52 PM »
Hello there,

I am fairly new to Investing and I after trying to save up for years, I started investing 3 months ago.

Here is the big picture, and I would love to hear any advice from you seasoned MMMers :)
I graduated 1.5 year ago (January 2012) with a marketing degree. College was in NYC, my parents live in Canada.

I worked in NYC from December 2012 to July 2013, making net $2000/month. With expenses and rent sky high, I managed to save up $1200 in total (after splurging on a much needed mcbook - i do graphics)
From that amount, I opened a Betterment.com account starting with $500 (+$25 sign up bonus) and I add $100 monthly.
I now have:
Betterment: Allocation: 51% stocks 48% bonds
$735 invested amount
$15.91 earned (or 2.2% avg interested since July)

US account:
$500 waiting to be deposited monthly. ($100/month)

I have now moved back to Canada with my parents and I am looking for a stable job. I now have an in-between job which pays a bit over $1500/month.
($13.1/hr after taxes, usually 32hrs/week although there is many half days/off times when we aren't paid)
I do not have any expenses here besides a $45 phone bill, about $40-50 in gas and $150 misc.

I went to my bank TD and decided to allocate my money to mutual funds to get it working for me while I do not need it .
Allocation 50/50 bonds/stocks
TD Comfort Balanced portfolio Putting in $250 weekly until beginning of January.
                                Gross amount         Net amount        Unit Price              Trans. Units
PPP Purchase      $250.00          $250.00       $14.0500      17.794

TD Monthly income Putting in $100 bi-weekly indefinitely.
                                Gross amount         Net amount            Unit Price              Trans. Units
PPP Purchase      $100.00              $100.00       $17.6300      5.672