Author Topic: Should I buy the car I am leasing? What would you do?  (Read 3071 times)

lilybluerose

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Should I buy the car I am leasing? What would you do?
« on: July 18, 2018, 03:19:43 PM »
Hi everyone! I am so happy to have found this forum. I REALLY wish I would have learned about finances and such when I was younger! I am going to try to  keep this short and sweet.

I am currently leasing a 2015 Honda Civic. The lease is up in March. I was very ill when I leased this vehicle, and had absolutely no knowledge of savings, finances, retirement etc! I am going to have to make a choice. I will need to buy a vehicle in March. I was wondering if it would be best to buy this car, or try to find something else. I really would love a larger car, but know its probably  not going to be easy for me. I am not good with cars, and dont really have anyone who can come help me look at them to determine if it will be a good buy. I actually was at the dealership looking at brand new CRV's before I was welcomed to this whole new world of MMM lol!!! UGH!

2015 Honda Civic Sedan 21,000 miles.
Lease is up in March
Gross Income- 100,000-115,000 ( commission, it varies)
Buy out on  lease will be $12,800 not sure if I can get this any lower or not.
Household is Myself (31), My husband(37) and a 4 year old.

Our biggest want in life right now is to save 20% for a new home. We live in an older ranch home and paid 148,000 on a 30 year mortgage. The ones we are looking at are around $230,000-$250,000 We won't consider this until we have at least $60-75k to put down and can do a 15 yr mortgage.

Checking=5,000
Savings= around $28,000
Retirement combined= around $21,000 ( Just started a year and a half ago. Thankful to have learned about this stuff now!)
Emergency fund$17,350
 ( learned MMM doesnt support this, but I am very new to this, finding out a lot of what is best)