Author Topic: Short Term Savings  (Read 6143 times)

travis_cooper

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Short Term Savings
« on: July 14, 2013, 12:57:38 PM »
So, I've had this question for a long time and have never known how to find the answer. I'm fairly new to MMM, but I love everything I've been reading. I'm hoping I can finally get a good answer here. Basically what are the best options for short term savings?  So, for example, our heater and air conditioner are getting old. We know that in 3 years or so we will likely need to replace them. My car will eventually die, say I can see about one year out to prepare to replace it. I can probably come up with several other things along those lines as well. So my question is, where do I stick the money while I'm saving up for those types of things?

Up until last week I just put the money in my savings account and on my budget had the money split out into different categories where I had assigned the money. Obviously with almost no gains in the account this has always felt like a bad place for the money, but I didn't know what else to do. I finally took the plunge and put a big chunk of that into a VTSMX. I plan on putting the money I was saving into each of those categories into this account as well. My current thought is that I can see events like this far enough ahead of time that I could then plan for them. I do still have about $5000 in cash still in the savings account just in case of things I couldn't plan for. So, lets say I know I am around the corner from needing a new car. I could then stop putting some, or all, of this money into my vanguard account and put it into my savings until I have enough to make the purchase. Thus my Vanguard account is just left alone during this time, but now that money is sitting in the bank earning next to nothing. I feel this is the best course of action, because you never know what the market is going to do, so I then don't have to worry about this money losing value.