Author Topic: Reader Case Study - What do we focus on?  (Read 28417 times)

meandmyfamily

• Bristles
Re: Reader Case Study - What do we focus on?
« Reply #50 on: December 06, 2016, 09:58:26 PM »
Unfortunately I am an expert at rolling CC debt over to 0% interest cards.  There is no catch just a transfer fee of 3%-5% on some. 

Dicey

• Senior Mustachian
« Reply #51 on: December 07, 2016, 05:25:28 AM »
Unfortunately I am an expert at rolling CC debt over to 0% interest cards.  There is no catch just a transfer fee of 3%-5% on some.
What I'm not sure of is what happens if the balance transfer is not completely paid off (or rolled over) by the end of the grace period. Seriously, these are the people who invented two-cycle billing. There must be a gotcha built in. Also, that BT fee adds up. Hopefully it's 3-5% of a much smaller number every time you roll the balance to a new card.
« Last Edit: December 07, 2016, 07:34:17 AM by Diane C »

wintertell

• Bristles
« Reply #52 on: December 07, 2016, 05:50:16 AM »
This sounds ideal to me.

As long as it is on the condition that you will get at least a one month e-fund and still stay aggressive about paying these suckers off. But, I wouldnt get distracted from the debt payoff too long, as I want your cash flow to get better quickly....

Everyone has different levels of comfort when it comes to e-funds. When I was paying off 170k of car, student and mobile home loans, I kept a one month buffer ("live on last month's income" per YNAB's advice), plus about a 1k emergency fund. This was enough for the entire 2.5 years we were paying off debt super aggressively. Only now that we got all debt over 3% paid off are we building a multi-month fund.

Thanks wintertell. I think we'll doing something similar to what you suggest for a couple of months, then get back to aggressively paying down debt.