Author Topic: Reader Case Study - Saving Enough in High Cost of Living Area?  (Read 7240 times)

NoMoneyMoProblems

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Hello, first time poster, mid-term lurker. I'm seeking to embrace the low expense lifestyle and hopefully shoot for an FI early retirement. I've attached a copy of the cash flow worksheet to this posting so you can get a sense of our vitals. Would greatly appreciate your advice and wisdom regarding our financial situation and a couple questions. First, some basics (all monthly):

Life Situation: MFJ; wife and I are 31, we have a one year old son; live and work in northern Virginia (suburban Washington, DC); I am an engineer with the federal government and have been working full-time for about 5 years straight out of school; my wife doesn't work outside the home.

Gross Salary/Wages: $8929

Pre-tax deductions: $555 total --- health insurance ($356), vision/dental ($116); healthcare FSA ($83)

Other Ordinary Income: None

Adjusted Gross Income: $8374

Taxes: $1948 total -- FICA ($519); Federal ($880); State ($428); Medicare ($121)

Current expenses: $3929 total

[Roth TSP: $446 (employer match @5% = an additional $446 in traditional TSP)]
529 plan (Utah): $100
Rent (one bedroom apartment): $1551
Utilities (water, trash, electricity), Internet: $200
Cell (AT&T, 2 lines): $125
Insurance (Renters, Life, Health, Dental, Vision): $570
Car maintenance, gas, registration: $104
Groceries, dining, household, beauty, pets: $1047
Healthcare: $100
Misc (travel, computer, entertainment, gifts, clothing): $125

Assets: $208,000 total -- $108,000 in the bank; a couple paid for cars worth about $20,000; $80,000 in federal gov TSP (Lifecycle 2050 fund; about even split between roth and traditional)
https://www.tsp.gov/InvestmentFunds/FundOptions/fundPerformance_L2050.html

Liabilities: None.

Specific Questions: