Author Topic: Raises in Corporate America - Accounting  (Read 3179 times)

iamtheflash

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Raises in Corporate America - Accounting
« on: July 13, 2018, 06:27:31 AM »
Hello all!  First time poster, long time lurker.  I wanted to see if any of you had some knowledge to share regarding your experiences with raises in the corporate world.  I'm an accountant at a large publicly traded company in the midwest.  I spent 4 years doing public accounting at a small firm and have been doing the corporate thing for almost 3 years now.  I perform well according to my reviews, but my raises have been less than 1.5% each of my first two years and this year I got no raise at all.  I was wondering if this typical in the industry?

Sibley

• Walrus Stache
Re: Raises in Corporate America - Accounting
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2018, 07:56:17 AM »
In general, my experience is companies are very short sighted in how they do raises. They hire at market rates, but don't give raises to keep people at market rates. Thus, people have an incentive to change jobs.

What's market rate? If you're not happy with your current salary vs. market rate, then either talk to your boss about a raise or find a new job.

Askamanager.org will help you out.

iamtheflash

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2018, 09:48:48 AM »
I appreciate the response.  I'll check out the website, thanks!

lbmustache

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2018, 10:16:43 AM »
Hmm, 1.5% seems quite low. My brother works for one of the "big 4" and his raises are about 5-7% per year.

If he moved to a different company, same or similar role, he could see his salary jump by a minimum of $10k or so.

wbranch

• Stubble
« Reply #4 on: July 13, 2018, 10:20:40 AM »