Author Topic: Profitable, bootstrapable, (eventual) hands off businesses?  (Read 7990 times)

greaper007

• Handlebar Stache
Profitable, bootstrapable, (eventual) hands off businesses?
« on: April 09, 2015, 09:13:39 PM »
So, lets say you're like me.   I'm 34 and I've been home with the kids for the past 6 years, before that I was an airline pilot (I don't ever want to touch another airplane), I have a history undergrad and most of my skill set leans towards cooking or building/fixing.  My youngest is going to kindergarten in a little over a year so it's time to start doing something.

I'm too old to start over in some corporate wage slave scenario and I've always been attracted to entrepreneurship.   But I don't want to sink a bunch of dough into some stupid idea.   I've spent the last couple months setting up a soda company with a local store owner.   He decided to pull out this week but said he'd buy the soda from me if I went through with it (he owns 3 candy stores that do pretty well).    I can't figure out if the soda would be a worthy venture to do on my own though,I need to run some more numbers.   

Still, I want to start something so I wanted to see if you guys had any ideas for low cost, high enough profit businesses for someone that doesn't have previous experience or a professional degree?    Fire away.

Stache In Training

• Stubble
Re: Profitable, bootstrapable, (eventual) hands off businesses?
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2015, 09:23:55 PM »
I'd say to check out some cheap franchises.  Proven ideas, but not a lot of capital is always needed.  I think I just saw a little ceasars advertised on Monster for like 50K.  There was a long list.  I'm sure there's some fine print, but I'd say franchises probably give you the best bet of not hitting on a "some stupid idea."

greaper007

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2015, 09:40:30 PM »