Author Topic: Outsource or insource landscaping on new house?  (Read 2480 times)

Sparks11

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Outsource or insource landscaping on new house?
« on: April 17, 2018, 06:51:13 PM »
I realize the general advice here is to always DIY when you can. But I still just had to ask: In my situation, should it be an obvious choice to do my own landscaping?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

- The only experience I have in landscaping is rototilling (once), laying sod (twice), and making adjustments to existing irrigation systems.

- I have about $6,000 of realtor rebates (we used a discount realtor) and builder credits to go toward landscaping. We could put this toward raw materials and do the front and backyard ourselves, or we could use it as the down payment on outsourcing.

- I have three daughters: 7, 9, and 10. So a nice yard is very important to us.

- Our HOA requires a landscaping plan to be submitted, which I've never done before but I'm sure I can figure it out.

Here are the approximate requirements I need to meet the HOA standards. I've simply copied and pasted a landscaper's estimate. My first two quotes come in at $15,000 and $16,500.

Total landscaping of about 2,500 sq. ft.

-Prep for sod
-Install 2” of Grade B top soil
-Install 1,100 sq. ft. of Kentucky Blue grass sod (350 sq. ft. in front and 750 sq. ft. in
back)
-Prep for path, rock and mulch
-Install meriscape weed fabric under all new rock
-Install 4” rolled top edging with 12” pins around all new rock
-Install 30” wide breeze pathway from driveway to back patio
-Install 200 sq. ft. of playground mulch for Trampoline
-Install 1 ½” Decorative rock in 60% of remaining yard and install mulch in
remaining 40% of yard
-Install one 2 ½' Decorative tree in parkway
-Install one 1 ½' Decorative tree in backyard
-Install two 6’ Evergreen trees in yard
-Install 24 various #5 gallon shrubs
-Install 14 various #1 gallon perennials