Author Topic: Noob Question! - Pension and 457 Plan -  (Read 4227 times)

Holmes

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Noob Question! - Pension and 457 Plan -
« on: February 20, 2012, 02:03:48 PM »
Hi guys,

I just discovered the website and philosophy. I greatly appreciate this community and find it a comfort to know there is a tried and tested avenue for freedom!

Anyway my question concerns how to calculate early retirement when one (that's me) has a pension as well as a 457 plan. I am a 30 year old new teacher so I won't have access to the pension for quite some time but I would like to retire well before then.

I just started putting money in a Valic 457 plan and would like to use that as a vehicle for collecting revenue. Does the forum think this is a doable idea? Can I receive dividend checks from a 457? Also, how would you calculate an early pension payout along with a 457?

I'm sorry if these questions are too noob. Cut me some slack! I'm new at this! :)

-Holmes

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Noob Question! - Pension and 457 Plan -
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2012, 02:30:30 PM »
First look into the details of your pension plan - minimum number of years needed, what age you can retire at (likely depends on years served), if you can purchase years, if they have lump sum payout or not, taking pension early possibilities and penalties, etc.

Then we can more fully answer your questions.

For the 457, the great thing is it's like a 401k, but with no 10% penalty before age 59 1/2 - when you sever employment you can withdraw it all (paying normal taxes at that time, of course, since it's a tax deferred account).

FIRECalc - firecalc.org - is a great tool for estimating retirement planning with future income streams (such as a pension) able to be added.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.