Author Topic: Non FIREd folks: What is your least favourite part about working  (Read 14363 times)

kaypinkHH

• Pencil Stache
    • My first Journal!
There are a few threads that ask the Post Fired crew what their favourite thing is about being FIREd, or what they miss most about work. Let's flip the script and share our collective misery that is "death by fluorescent lights".

Least fav thing at the moment:
I arrive at work (carpool with my DH partway) at 7 am. Although the company has flex hours start and end time, technically I have to stay until 4pm, due to core hours being between 9-4. I never take a full 1 hr lunch break, so I'm "working" an extra 0.5 hrs. I could already be on my way home by now if it was just a strict "work your 8 hours and go home" policy!! #struggle

ObviouslyNotAGolfer

• Pencil Stache
Re: Non FIREd folks: What is your least favourite part about working
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2017, 02:12:29 PM »
I am a scientist and actually enjoy my work--university teaching and doing research--quite a bit!

However, the worst of it is:

1. Having to get up before noon on some days (I am a hardcore nightowl, and have been able to have my preferred schedule for much of my time as a graduate student and postdoc)

2. Commuting on SoCal freeways. Fortunately, it is only about 17 miles each way, but still sucks.

3. Living in SoCal--the least mustaschian place on the planet and a worthless, disgusting, boring, ugly as hell, overpriced, overcrowded, polluted cesspit to boot!

Still, in my previous job, I loved living in the Bay Area, but my two bosses were pure evil and breathtakingly stupid, so overall, I would say things are better now (also making more money now than ever).
« Last Edit: August 10, 2017, 02:36:11 PM by ObviouslyNotAGolfer »

marielle

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2017, 02:27:35 PM »