Author Topic: Newbie-can anyone translate this 403 (B) jargon?  (Read 934 times)

mamaof4

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Newbie-can anyone translate this 403 (B) jargon?
« on: March 08, 2020, 02:19:54 PM »
I don't understand what this means because I'm a complete newb. I have google searched but it still isn't clear and I want to be sure I get it right.

NDPERS PEP incentive is a provision in the ND Public Employees Retirement system that allows members who participate in an approved deferred comp plan to receive up to 4% of salary credited to their member account in addition to the 7% employee contribution. This allocation is from the employer contribution received and earns interest monthly.

Thanks!

MDM

• Senior Mustachian
Re: Newbie-can anyone translate this 403 (B) jargon?
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2020, 05:06:09 PM »
[Some acronym] is a provision in the ND Public Employees Retirement system that allows members who participate in an approved deferred comp plan to receive up to 4% of salary credited to their member account in addition to the 7% employee contribution.
A "deferred comp[ensation] plan" is a 401k, 403b, 457b, etc.  Doesn't say how the "up to" amount is determined but is the rest understandable?

This allocation is from the employer contribution received
This is muddy.  Perhaps the gist is that the "up to 4%" doesn't come out of your salary, but rather is an additional payment from your employer.

and earns interest monthly.
That part seems straightforward enough, although "how much" interest would be good to know.

mamaof4

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2020, 08:07:02 PM »
Thanks for the response. I felt it was muddy as well but it's good to hear it wasn't just me!! This is a foreign language for me at this point, but I'll get there.

ericrugiero

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2020, 08:19:31 AM »
That is a little confusing.