Author Topic: New car  (Read 6741 times)

Nimmi Kala

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
New car
« on: July 25, 2013, 01:36:37 PM »
Hi All,

I just started reading the blog and I find the spending problems mentioned are so true. They all apply to me. I am software engineer working full time for more than 2 years with a decent pay and I don't have a dime of saving besides the $16k in 401k. This can be attributed to frequent shopping for clothes, purchase of a nice sofa, TV and other apartment stuff. (I got all this after I graduated and started working)

I was driving an old Infiniti till last November when it started giving trouble and I sold it to buy a brand new Mini Cooper (yes $26k financed with 0.9% APR!). I have paid about $3500 till now on the car. The insurance on the car is about $100 per month.

Now, looking back I think it was such a stupid decision. Someone should have put sense into me. One of the thoughts is to sell the car and buy a used car but I am not able to get myself to do that as I really like the car put a lot of thought into picking the options for the car etc.

Tony_SS

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: New car
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2013, 01:46:26 PM »
At least you got a good rate and warranty and car gets good gas mpg's. How much more do you have on the loan til payoff? You can stick with it, or sell it for a loss and then buy a used car, which may need repair?

Depending on how further you have to go, I would just see it though, take care of the car, learn about it and cut costs everywhere else.

Eric

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2013, 01:51:01 PM »
You'll have to decide whether you'd rather work a few extra years, or drive a new car.  If you feel like you can justify that, and you're okay with delaying your retirement for fancy transportation, then there's not much we can say.

You should probably read this post if you haven't already

http://www.mrmoneymustache.com/2011/11/28/new-cars-and-auto-financing-stupid-or-sensible/

Nimmi Kala