Author Topic: mustachian backpacking  (Read 6372 times)

thricesplice

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
mustachian backpacking
« on: December 10, 2014, 08:46:12 AM »
I am going to try to start backpacking next year, and am trying to figure out the most economical ways to acquire gear and supplies.  I am in touch with friends who will give me lists of necessary equipment, etc... but I don't think at this stage it's necessary to get the latest and greatest of everything.

Do people have any recommendations?
I was going to go after equipment on sale at REI, but do people ever buy used equipment and if so where?
Advice on equipment that is not necessary?  Areas not to skimp?

Anyone ever made their own dried meals via a dehydrator, rather than buying MREs, or is that not worth it?

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

Gerard

• Handlebar Stache
    • Optimacheap
Re: mustachian backpacking
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2014, 09:13:40 AM »
Maybe this is too obvious to not be useful, but I would do it for a while with borrowed or rented equipment, to make sure it's going to stick and to realize what equipment is right for you. It's not like Baden-Powell or John Muir needed space-tech stuff to go for a walk in the woods. Maybe do hikes that don't require much stuff, or where you don't need to worry about every last ounce. Dried or calorie-dense foods are nearly as light/efficient as dehydrated.