Author Topic: Motherboard no longer posting, is it the capacitors?  (Read 3735 times)

Guses

• Pencil Stache
Motherboard no longer posting, is it the capacitors?
« on: May 23, 2015, 08:09:49 AM »
I have an Unraid server that holds our important information as well as our media collection.

The server is running on a circa 2006 K9N sli platinum motherboard (AMD processor). The server is connected to an UPS and has been running fine 24/7 for the last several years.

Out of the blue, it won't even post anymore, there is just nothing on the screen except a blinky underscore. The fans still work and I hear the HDD spinning when I start the computer (PSU seems to be fine).

Upon inspection, it *looks* (I am no expert) like 2 of the capacitors on the motherboard might have gone bad (bulging tops). See attached picture for details.

Am I SOL? Is there something else I should investigate before thrashing the system?

Thegoblinchief

Re: Motherboard no longer posting, is it the capacitors?
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2015, 10:05:59 AM »
Others may have better answers - getting any error beeps via the motherboard speaker?

Have you tried unplugging and reseating every cable?

Guses

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2015, 10:21:38 AM »
Ya, no beeps. It's not posting or doing anything really.

I reseated the memory and tried different slots too. 

Syonyk

• Magnum Stache
    • Syonyk's Project Blog
« Reply #3 on: May 23, 2015, 11:11:38 AM »
Those caps are definitely bulging and no good.  The rest are probably varying degrees of shot as well.

However, for a 9 year old system, unless you're seriously good with a soldering iron and have a lot of spare caps around, it's not worth recapping the board.  Just buy a cheap replacement system on Craigslist, swap the drives over, and call it good.  10 years for a consumer mainboard is doing just fine, especially for "late capacitor plague" era boards.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Capacitor_plague

grantmeaname

• CM*MW 2023 Attendees