Author Topic: Looking for advice on index investing: VTSAX? VOO? Something else?  (Read 15881 times)

NestEggChick (formerly PFgal)

• Stubble
    • Nest Egg Chick
I'm finally wising up about investing. (I won't bother to mention what I did in the past since it's irrelevant here.) I like Jim's advice over at http://jlcollinsnh.wordpress.com/ to invest in just one big index fund that seems to cover a bit of everything. He uses VSTAX.

I just moved everything over to Vanguard and the funds became available for investing today. I was all excited to invest, and then I got stuck. I was looking at VTSAX and VOO. They have the same fees but VOO returns a higher dividend. VOO is basically the S&P 500 while, as far as I can tell, VTSAX is that plus a lot more. I’d love opinions on how to choose one over the other. Or maybe there’s a third choice I should be considering? I'm new to this and I'd love any advice you guys can offer. I'm sure I'm not the only one trying to figure this out!

Thanks for any advice you can give!

Info about the two is here:

https://personal.vanguard.com/us/funds/snapshot?FundId=0585&FundIntExt=INT#tab=4

https://personal.vanguard.com/us/funds/snapshot?FundId=0968&FundIntExt=INT#tab=4

destron

• Bristles
    • Mustachian Financial Calculators
Re: Looking for advice on index investing: VTSAX? VOO? Something else?
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2013, 10:13:32 AM »
You might ask yourself, why do you want a higher dividend?

If it is in your Roth IRA, it could be beneficial once in retirement because you do not sell any of your capital ... except, I don't see the difference between selling stock and getting a larger dividend.

If you are in a non-tax preferential account, you have to pay taxes on all of those dividends. Also, be careful because if you are using DRIP, you can screw up tax loss harvesting with an untimely dividend purchase.

Personally, I buy VTSAX.

mikefixac

• Bristles
    • Uncommonly Brilliant
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2013, 11:45:44 AM »