Author Topic: Lifetime learning credit / 1098t question  (Read 3161 times)

by_1008

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Lifetime learning credit / 1098t question
« on: February 04, 2015, 06:32:03 AM »
I am a current graduate student trying to maximize my lifetime learning credit. I started my program in the Fall semester of 2014. Part of my tuition each semester is paid by a scholarship provided by the school.

Though I was billed for the Spring 2015 semester in Dec 2014, my payments (via loans) weren't actually credited to my account until Jan 2015. Am I correct then that these payments should be considered 2015 qualified education expenses even though they were included in my 2014 1098-T, box 2? (thus reducing my qualified education expenses for 2014)

I'm thinking that this is correct, and I only report what I actually paid via loan in calendar year 2014. This would reduce my lifetime learning credit (since my expenses for 1 semester of 2014 would be below the $10k cap), but would basically allow me to spread out my education expenses over 3 tax years, instead of 2. (As a result, I will likely get the full credit in 2015, and about 75% of the max credit in both 2014 and 2016, instead of the full credit in tax years 2014 & 2015).

Am I thinking this through correctly? I guess I just want to make sure that I'm correct in noting the discrepancy between my 1098-t and the expenses I actually incurred.

SomedayStache

• Pencil Stache
  • Live Long and Prosper
Re: Lifetime learning credit / 1098t question
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2015, 07:09:17 AM »
(Not a tax expert...but this was briefly discussed in the VITA training I recently attended)

I think you could claim those expenses either way, as long as you don't try to double dip and claim them twice.  So it's either get it now or get it later.