Author Topic: Later retirement - where to put the money?  (Read 1965 times)

SavingsTab

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Later retirement - where to put the money?
« on: July 07, 2017, 03:13:48 PM »
Hi there.

This may be a different sort of case study, so may require less details than others. Husband and I are both 48 years old, both work for government entities in CA. I'm a social worker and recently got a big supervisor promotion with pay increase, now making $78K/year. He is a high school culinary teacher, and also teaches at night in the local community college culinary program, making $70K/year.

We are debt free, except for the mortgage (around $160K), which we're refinancing to a 15 year loan (saving around $45K in interest over the old 30 year loan!). I have just over $26K in my govt employer's 457(b) and now contribute 10% of my pre-tax pay to this. I'm in the Fidelity Freedom K 2030 plan, and the expense ratio is 0.61%. I also recently opened a Vanguard Roth IRA brokerage account, and have $2300 in it so far. He has not participated in any retirement savings plans to date, but has $30K in a savings account. We both *hope* to have our government pensions and Social Security available to us at some point, but who knows?

We're pretty frugal, but now find ourselves with a lot more money than we need to live. So here's the big question:

WHERE TO PUT THE MONEY?

We would like to retire in 12 years max, by the time we're 60 years old (late my MMM standards, I know), so not sure if all of the early FI information applies to us. MMM recommends index funds, but we need to have investments that will be available to us in 12+ years, not 30+ years.

More specific questions:

Should we both max out the deferred comp offered by our government employers?

Should I stick with the Fidelity 2030 plan or switch to another Fidelity plan?

How should I invest the money in my Roth IRA? (I realize this is up to me and I am seriously lacking in investment knowledge)