Author Topic: Late 20's median income mustachian starting out- critique my budget!  (Read 12013 times)

monstermonster

• Magnum Stache
Sometimes I get discouraged on here because at age 28, it seems that the other younger mustachians have way way more assets than me. I'm not racing from 10K to 100K yet, because I'm racing to $10K still! And while other folks my age make salaries twice of mine, it gets discouraging. I work in nonprofits, so this is the most I’ve ever made but I graduated 2 years ago with a BA in Economics from an expensive school with no debt thanks to the Americorps award and Pell grants. I’m single, no children (and plan to never have them.)
I'd love to hear your thoughts/critiques on my budget. I’m working towards getting extra spending down to where I’m saving 50% of my income. Currently I am at 40%.

Gross Salary: $39,520
After taxes, medical and 401K deduction, I take home $2288/month.

Mostly Necessary: $1017
$655: Rent/Internet/Electric
$160 Groceries & CSA share & Household goods
$40 Medical Copays
$30 Misc
$5 Public Transport
$15 Hosting & Web Services
$12 Renters Insurance
$100 Charity

Funtimes: $245
$40 Restaurants
$100 Bars + Sewing (sewing in winter, bars in summer)
$10 Coffee
$20 Running
$50 Liquor Cabinet & Beer at home
$15 Theatre
$50 – This is my sinking “travel” fund for an annual 20+ day work trip where I usually hit about 5-8 countries. 
-------------------------------------
Spending Total: $1252

Savings/Investment Contributions Monthly:
$100 - IDA savings account
$160 - Emergency Fund
$190 -  pretax 401K in Vanguard retirement target funds
$458 - Roth IRA
----------------------------------
Savings total- $908

Current Assets:
$1,945 Roth IRA at USAA managed target fund - when this gets to $10K, I'm moving it to Vanguard Admiral
$1000 Individual Development Account Savings (this matched 3:1 at withdrawal for qualified expenses, up to $6000)
$1100 in Emergency Fund
$296 in 401K (I just qualified for this a month ago)