Author Topic: Jobs that don't suck: Got one?  (Read 4786 times)

englishteacheralex

• Magnum Stache
Jobs that don't suck: Got one?
« on: February 06, 2019, 02:36:52 PM »
Personally, I have a GREAT job: I'm a high school English teacher at a nice private school. Pay is adequate for the work I do, good benefits, lots of vacation time, work/life is mostly balanced!

However, readers of my journal know that my protege/mentee who is 25 and whom I've known since she was 11 is having a quarterlife crisis at the moment.

Here are her details:

1. Bachelor's degree in English, graduated about three years ago

2. Work experience is as a journalist working for a non-profit local newspaper for 2.5 years after college

3. Interested enough in the field of education to have applied for a master's in teaching at the local university, but not completely sold on being a teacher

4. Journalism burnt her out--she was capable of it but was suffering acute anxiety attacks

5. Highly mustachian; she'd like to make ~$45k/year (that's what she made as a journalist) so she can save money; totally capable of living on $20-$25k/year

6. Single, no kids

7. Pays her own bills, no parent subsidies

8. No college debt (parents paid)

9. Currently working as a TA at a high school; this is not a long term solution but a stopgap, low stress job because she couldn't stand the journalism thing anymore.

10. Pretty open to lots of possibilities, doesn't want to take on much debt for more education, very liberal-arts not STEM but thinking about paralegal, financial advisor...some kind of career that isn't soul-sucking.

She's kind of "dating" jobs right now and figures she'll try out a couple of things and see what she likes and then commit to that field. She's full of regret for not doing this process in college, but no time like the present!

Any ideas?

AnnaGrowsAMustache

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Jobs that don't suck: Got one?
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2019, 04:14:50 PM »