Author Topic: I think I'm not interested in career progression. How to handle the talk w/ mgr?  (Read 9250 times)

moustacheverte

• Stubble
I've been a software developer for 5-6 years now. I make decent money while only being a "simple" developer: I don't manage anything or anyone, and I'm very rarely the engineer that gets called when things break to fix in an emergency.

I was thinking about it recently, and I like it this way. I could make a lot more money becoming a lead, or a manager, but when I see the insane amount of hours and stress my betters experience I'm not sure I want it.

I probably have another 7-8 years to work before I can FIRE, and I think I'm happy staying a developer with very little responsibilities to the business.

But my manager wants to develop a career plan, personal growth plan, etc. It's very nice they're thinking about this, and I appreciate their concern but I'm perfectly happy staying in my current role. The only career progression I'd be interested in is more money for less responsibility, but I don't think it exists.

How so I approach this kind of conversation? I don't want to sound complacent because I need the income to save for quite a few years still, but I'm really not interested in burning the midnight oil and play the promotion game. Any advice from others who have been in that position?
« Last Edit: July 14, 2017, 07:17:34 AM by moustacheverte »

Meowmalade

• Handlebar Stache
  • Like "Marmalade". Not like an ailing French cat.
Um, me!  I just got my first promotion in 8-9 years, my own fault because I felt the way you do.  I was already performing at that level and should have pushed for the promotion a couple of years ago because I make more money now and could have gotten a raise earlier.